IP monitoring. Risk analysis and protection of interests in the sphere of intellectual property & competition

The “competition never sleeps” rule is most pressing in this field, as competitors always look out for new market stakeholders and new projects - either new products, services, online platforms or apps emerging in the market.

Disputes over trademarks, symbols, logotypes and domain names occur increasingly frequently in this area of business. Where a company loses a right to a symbol/label it often loses a whole market segment: for an online project, losing a domain name in practice means going out of business; for an online project this would mean a need for re-branding and loss of awareness among clients. Moreover, legislation prescribes large penalties for acts of unfair competition, in particular for unlawful use of other’s trademark (trade name) or use of labels causing blending with competitor’s trademark in consumers.

In order to minimise such risks, assess prospective conflicts in entering a market, reduce costs on litigating with competitors with respect to unfair competition or infringement of rights to trade names and trademarks (both registered and unregistered), we offer the following types of legal assistance:

 

IP monitoring and risk analysis
  1. Analysis of current competition environment in various jurisdictions (European Union countries, Great Britain, USA, Singapore, Canada, Japan, RF, Ukraine), detection of similar symbols/labels used by competitors, risks of violation of competitors’ IP rights.
  2. In-depth analysis of detected risks with respect to detected competitors’ similar symbols/labels, their IP rights, assessment of the risk of adjudgment on trademark’s/symbol’s similarity/blending or unfair competition.
  3. Providing recommendations on minimising risks with respect to disputes involving competitors’ IP rights, for the purpose of safely entering a new market and registering own trademark / domain name.
Representing client’s interests in case of detection of any infringement of IP rights by your competitor
  1. Drawing up cease and desist letters with respect to  infringement of IP rights, recovery of damages, compensation; responses to competitors’ claims; maintaining negotiations during the pre-trial stage; negotiating with competitors over pre-trial dispute settlement.
  2. Representation during examination of disputes in Belarusian and/or foreign arbitration institutions, in particular in WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center, representation in the IP judicial board of the Supreme Court of the Republic of Belarus.
  3. Monitoring judicial proceedings in national courts of European Union countries, Great Britain, USA, Russian Federation, and in the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO).

We have many years’ experience of representing our clients in disputes involving trademarks and domain names, protection of interests under the UDRP procedure in the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center. Most cases have been successfully resolved by us already in the pre-trial stage. 

We maintain close and active relations with partners in many foreign jurisdictions, which allows us to represent clients immediately in situ, in particular in foreign courts.

IP мониторинг: анализ рисков и защита интересов

Правило “competition never sleeps” как нигде актуально, так как конкуренты всегда будут наблюдать за появлением новых игроков и запуском новых проектов на рынке, будь это выход новых товаров, услуг, запуск онлайн-платформ, приложений.

В такой среде споры вокруг товарных знаков, обозначений, логотипов и доменных имен возникают всё чаще. Потеря прав на использование обозначения нередко влечет утрату целого рынка: для онлайн-проекта потеря доменного имени, фактически, означает прекращение деятельности; для офлайн-проекта – необходимость ребрендинга и потерю узнаваемости среди клиентов. Кроме того, законодательство предусматривает значительные штрафы за совершение актов недобросовестной конкуренции, в том числе за незаконное использование чужого товарного знака или фирменного наименования; использование обозначений, вызывающих смешение у потребителя с товарным знаком конкурента.

Для минимизации таких рисков, оценки возможных споров при выходе на рынок, снижения издержек от ведения споров с конкурентами о совершении актов недобросовестной конкуренции, нарушении прав на фирменные наименования, товарные знаки (зарегистрированные и незарегистрированные), мы оказываем следующие виды юридической помощи:

IP мониторинг и анализ рисков
  1. Анализ текущей конкурентной среды в различных юрисдикциях (страны Европейского союза, Великобритания, США, Сингапур, Канада, Япония, РФ, Украина), выявление сходных обозначений, используемых конкурентами, рисков нарушения прав конкурентов на IP.
  2. Детальный анализ выявленных рисков в отношении выявленных сходных обозначений конкурентов, их прав на IP, оценка риска установления судом сходства до степени смешения или совершение акта недобросовестной конкуренции.
  3. Составление рекомендаций по минимизации рисков по спорам в отношении прав на IP конкурентов для безопасного выхода на новый рынок и регистрации собственного товарного знака, доменного имени.
Представление интересов в случае выявления нарушений прав на IP объекты со стороны ваших конкурентов
  1. Составление претензий (cease and desist letter) о нарушении прав на IP, взыскании убытков, компенсации; ответов на претензии конкурентов; ведение переписки на досудебной стадии; ведение переговоров с конкурентами о досудебном урегулировании спора.
  2. Представление интересов при рассмотрении споров в белорусских и иностранных арбитражных институтах, в том числе Центре ВОИС по арбитражу и посредничеству (WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center), представление интересов в судебной коллегии по делам интеллектуальной собственности Верховного Суда Республики Беларусь.
  3. Сопровождение процессов в национальных судах стран  Европейского союза, Великобритании, США и Российской Федерации, а также в Ведомстве Европейского союза по интеллектуальной собственности (EUIPO).

Мы имеем многолетний опыт представления интересов наших клиентов по спорам, связанным с товарными знаками и доменными именами, защиты интересов в рамках процедуры UDRP в WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center. Большинство дел успешно разрешается еще на досудебном этапе. 

Мы активно поддерживаем тесные отношения с партнерами во многих иностранных юрисдикциях для непосредственного представления интересов на месте, в том числе в иностранных судах.